LCC LogoAwards
Book Room
Where to Stay
How To Get Here
Contact Us



Left Coast Crime 16 awarded the Lefty and the Bruce Alexander History
Mystery Award at the Gala Dinner.

The 2006 Lefty was an award for best humorous crime novel published for the
first time in the English language in 2005.

Peter Guttridge, Cast Adrift (Allison & Busby, UK)

Also nominated were:
- Liz Evans, Cue The Easter Bunny (Orion, UK)
- Jasper Fforde, The Big Over Easy (Hodder & Stoughton, UK)
- Bill Fitzhugh, Highway 61 Resurfaced (Morrow, US)
- Charlie Williams, Fags And Lager (Serpent's Tail, UK)
(There was some dispute over the eligibility of Cast Adrift, as the copyright date is 2004. However, Allison & Busby have assured us that it was not published until January 2005.)

The 2006 Bruce Alexander History Mystery Award was for the best historical
crime novel (set anywhere in the time period up to 1956—fifty years before
LCC16) published for the first time in the English language in 2005. This
award honours the memory of historical crime novelist Bruce Alexander (aka
Bruce Cook).

Tony Broadbent, Spectres In The Smoke (St Martin's, US)

Also nominated were:
- Maureen Jennings, Night's Child (McCelland & Stewart, Canada)
- Jacqueline Winspear, Pardonable Lies (Henry Holt, US)

The awards were sponsored by the makers of traditional Bristol Blue Glass.

Blue Glass


LCC Bylaws | List of LCC Honourees

Web site by Interbridge | Logo designed by Bill Selby